image Chakra Activation Workshop Series – Day 2 – What Is A Chakra?

Chakra Activation Workshop Series – Day 2 – What Is A Chakra?

What Is A Chakra?

Chakra spinning energy wheel


In the most basic form, a chakra is the Sanskrit word which literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body.

There is an energy field around every human being which is spiritually described and clairvoyantly perceived as the aura.

The aura may be seen in colour or as a vague light, or sense as a private space or electrical tingling around the body.

Much of this colour and energy is supplied by the chakras.

If you can imagine visually a chakra being a wheel of light with a related colour resonating through.  These chakras can have specific links to various parts of the glandular system, some might call them subtle glands.

There is another word in Sanskrit called ‘nadis’ which refers to the lines of force forming intangible layers and networks of energy which are the main substance of subtle bodies which surround each one of us.  Where the nadis are produced and intersect are called ‘chakras’.

There are ‘major’ chakras, this occurs where the lines are produced and cross each other, minor chakras are formed where there are less busy crossing points.

Did you know that your subtle body can be photographed?  You can do this using a process known as kirlian photography.

subtle body
subtle body


Did you know also that you can easily experience your own subtle body?

Open and contract your hands a few times and then gradually bring your palms towards each other from a distance, until they are between four to six inches (10-15 cm) apart.  As the energy field of each palm encounters the other you will sense a resistance or a slight tingling.  There are ‘echoes’ of all the chakras in the palms which is why ‘healers’ feel their energy through this avenue.

You can try this activity also with a friend.

How did it feel?

For me it felt heavy and sticky as soon as I hit the cross over point.

I look forward to catching up with you tomorrow where I will go briefly over all seven chakras.

Justine xxx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s